056 Tristan Baldwin Painting

Today I painted Tristan’s new road racing frame. Yesterday I sandblasted and shot primer on it; then let the primer cure overnight. This morning I wet sanded the primer and shot the black. Tristan was pretty open with the design and let me have free reign over it. The down tube ambigram was painted on, while all of the other decals were standard issue peel and transfer pieces. This frame is very aggressive, very stiff, and I wanted the overall look to be “understated aggressive”. I also wanted it to match a large number of kit options as he is finishing up his collegiate season with UVM, riding for Team CF, and will likely use it for a number of years with a number of other teams. Tomorrow I am going to wet sand it and shoot the final clear. Even though it is a “team issue” frame, I want it to be the same caliber as every other frame leaving my shop.

This entry was posted in Framebuilding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

