Repainted and Ready for Clear

Tonight I repainted my college friend and Maietta Factory Racing member Dave Chiu’s cross frame from last year. Neither of us were very happy with how the paint turned out for last season, so we decided to change it up for this year. This will actually be his pit bike, and I will be building him an identical frame as his main race bike. The new frame will have the inverse of this paint scheme; white with black panels. While I had the old paint off this frame I installed a new rear brake cable bridge to facilitate a smoother line for the rear brake cable. The old one was too short. I also changed the down tube STI stops to one Dave chose. Dave had a lot of influence on the specifics on this frame; it really was a collaborative design. Tomorrow night I will paint his name on the top tube and apply the first coats of clear.

This entry was posted in Framebuilding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

