Christmas Arrives Tardy

Originally uploaded by anthony.maietta

As mentioned in my last post I was very fortunate to acquire an Anvil seat stay mitering fixture from my wife and family for Christmas (in a round-a-bout) way.  I spent some time in the shop this evening installing it on my horizontal end mill.  This process is taking me way longer than it should, but I’ve been finding it very satisfying to do all the work myself.  I’ve been trying to figure out how to mount my rotary table for tube mitering on the same machine as my seat stay fixture and chain stay fixture.  One day I’d like to have a dedicated machine for each operation, but it’s not in the cards right now.  So, tonight was the seat stay night, and as you can see from the picture its mounted on the right side of the table.  Craig’s road bike will be the first one to use the new fixture.

Chris’ mountain frame is almost complete.  I’m going to add three more bridges: one across the chain stays, and two adding support from the seat stays down to the chain stays near the rear dropouts.  Since the seat stays were a touch on the beefy side, I had to remove some material from the dropout socket.  I’d like to see some support brideges there as an extra level of security.

I won’t be in the shop again until Thurday the 19th.

Tony

This entry was posted in Shop Improvements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

